We are one of the state’s oldest organisations and are an integral part of Queensland’s system of government. 

The first Auditor-General was appointed in 1860. Since then, legislation about financial accountability in the public sector has been introduced and updated in response to changes in the public sector and Queenslanders' needs for increased accountability and transparency in government. 



Here is a list of Queensland's Auditor-Generals:

Brendan Worrall 2017
Andrew M Greaves 2011–2016
Glenn G Poole 2004–2011
Len J Scanlan 1997–2004
Barrie M Rollason 1992–1997
Patrick B Nolan 1989–1992
Vincent C Doyle 1984–1989
Patrick N Craven 1982–1984
Arthur J Peel, ISO 1978–1981
Sir Allen Sewell, ISO 1970–1977
Norman E Kropp, ISO 1967–1969
Cecil E Petersen, ISO 1960–1967
Richard L Murray, OBE 1954–1959
Edward A Crosser 1948–1953
John D Ross 1939–1948
George L Beal, ISO 1926–1939
Mure H Robertson 1915–1926
Thomas W Connah  1907–1915
Thomas M King, ISO 1901–1907
Edward Deshon 1889–1901
William L G Drew 1877–1889
Frederick O Darvall 1867–1877
Henry Buckley 1860–1867


In memoriam – vale Vincent C Doyle, former Auditor-General

In June 2023, we were saddened to hear of the passing of former Auditor-General, Vincent C Doyle. Vince is recognised for his distinguished 40-year career of service to Queensland. As Auditor-General from 1984–1989, among other achievements, Vince delivered the audit office’s first annual report in 1988. The report imparted more background on the role of the office, in response to the 1987 Fitzgerald Inquiry. Vince had already taken steps to improve parliament and the public’s understanding of the Auditor-General’s charter, and this first annual report provided further transparency around the office’s operations. Some of our current-day staff served with Vince as graduates or new starters, and as today’s QAO, we send our condolences to Vince’s family and friends.